Enhancing management approach and mitigation measures against jellyfish proliferations impacts. Project funded by the ENPI-CBC MED

First Med-Jellyrisk School 2014

The first Med-Jellyrisk School "Introduction to Pelagic Cnidarians and Ctenophores: Research Topics and Methods" was held in Barcelona, 10-15 November 2014, with 25 attendees from Spain, Italy, Malta, Tunisia, UK, Croatia, Turkey and Israel. It was a great opportunity for knowledge transfer, and undoubtedly a great experience!

 Med-Jellyrisk school photo gallery

Anti-Jellyfish Nets Installation 2014

On July 17th-18th, the MED-JELLYRISK Project has launched the installation of the first anti-jellyfish nets in Tunisia (Hammamet and Monastir, 400 linear meters in total). On July 22, the first nets was installed in Italy, Favignana (Egadi Islands) and another one will be installed soon at the island of Ustica (NW Sicily). We will continue soon with other localities in Tunisia, Sicily (Lampedusa, Alcamo, Eolian islands) as well as Ibiza in Spain, and Malta. For those who will experience to safely swim within the net enclosures, please send us your feedback.

Jellyfish Photography Competition 2014

The MED-JELLYRISK Project welcomes you to the Jellyfish Photography Competition 2014. Register your user account and you'll be able to participate in the Photo Contest.

Submission Rules and Guidelines (3.8 MB)


Disclaimer: This website has been produced with the financial assistance of the European Union under the ENPI CBC Mediterranean Sea Basin Programme. The contents of this website are the sole responsibility  of Marine Science Institute (CSIC, Spain -implementing partner) and can under no circumstances be regarded as reflecting the position of the European Union or of the Programme’s management structures.


Programme Statement: The 2007-2013 ENPI CBC Mediterranean Sea Basin Programme is a multilateral Cross-Border Cooperation initiative funded by the European Neighbourhood and Partnership Instrument (ENPI). The Programme objective is to promote the sustainable and harmonious cooperation process at the Mediterranean Basin level by dealing with the common challenges and enhancing its endogenous potential. It finances cooperation projects as a contribution to the economic, social, environmental and cultural development of the Mediterranean region. The following 14 countries participate in the Programme: Cyprus, Egypt, France, Greece, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Lebanon, Malta, Palestinian Authority, Portugal, Spain, Syria, Tunisia. The Joint Managing Authority (JMA) is the Autonomous Region of Sardinia (Italy). Official Programme languages are Arabic, English and French.


European Union Statement: The European Union is made up of 27 Member States who have decided to gradually link together their know-how, resources and destinies. Together, during a period of enlargement of 50 years, they have built a zone of stability, democracy and sustainable development whilst maintaining cultural diversity, tolerance and individual freedoms. The European Union is committed to sharing its achievements and its values with countries and peoples beyond its borders.